AASHTO Safety Leadership Award Criteria 


Recognize a member State that has demonstrated itself as a safety champion through actions designed to drive down serious injuries and fatalities.

Potential Candidates

Any AASHTO member State is eligible for the Safety Leadership Award.


  • Leadership: Evidence showing that safety is a priority in their state.

o   State CEO and/or Safety Champion is a recognized safety leader (in-state, national, or international).

o   Works cooperatively with state, local and other safety stakeholders including, but not limited to, the formation of a state highway safety policy committee.

o   Have in place a Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) that includes

  • Aggressive safety targets.
  • The development of strong partnerships at the state and local level and shared ownership of targets.
  • Processes for ensuring the SHSP is evaluated and updated as appropriate.

o   Active participation in/on AASHTO, TRB/NCHRP, or FHWA safety-related committees, panels, and/or programs.

  • Innovation: Application of new safety programs, infrastructure or legislation to reduce fatal and serious injury crashes.
  • Results: fatality and/or serious injury reduction trend – a favorable trend in the five year moving average of fatalities.


  • Applicants will be judged based upon a 3-page (maximum) write-up detailing how the agency meets the award criteria. Type size may be no smaller than 12 point font size and Times New Roman font. You are allowed one additional page to showcase results with data displays. Data displays include graphic information (graphs, charts, trend analysis, results oriented data/information, etc.). Narrative on the attachment page will not be scored.
  • Candidates can be nominated singularly or as a group by any member of the AASHTO Board of Directors, any active member (voting & non-voting) of an AASHTO committee, or any representative of an AASHTO member department.
  • A task force of the Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety will review and score the applications and recommend recipients to the AASHTO Leadership. The award will be presented during the Annual Meeting of the AASHTO Board of Directors.

A letter will be submitted each year to the CEO of each state with the details and the criteria.  a Copy will also be forwarded to the members of the Safety Committee.

For further information, contact Kelly Hardy, AASHTO Safety Program Manager, at 202-624-5868 or khardy@aashto.org.   444 N. Capitol St. NW, Suite 249, Washington, DC 20001.

Safety Leadership Award Presentation 2017

Pennsylvania 2017 AASHTO Safety Leadership Award Nomination

Pennsylvania 2017 AASHTO Safety Leadership Award Nomination – Copy

WSDOT AASHTO Safety Leadership_081817.

Previous Award Winners