Committee on Safety

AASHTO Liaison
Kelly Hardy, Senior Engineering Program Manager for Safety


May 8

Opening Session

National Safety Priorities- D Hersman_

Committee on Safety Kickoff

Strategic Plan – S Martinovich

Partner Updates

FHWA -M Griffith

Toward Zero Deaths

Traffic Safety Culture – Hull

Safety Data  -Troyer

Highway Safety Manual Update- S Read 

HSM Update – Domestic Scan – Milton

Joint Use of HSM and Human Factor Guide –  J Milton

May 9

Partner Updates 

GHSA Update – L Hollingsworth

ATTSA Update Wentz

EMS & Trauma NASEMSO D Gainer – Copy

 GHSA Update Hollingsworth

May 10

Partner Updates

NACE_Update S Davis

Business Meeting

PIARC Update  – Milton



Safety Performance Measures Update – FHWA Griffith & Sinclair

GHSA Update – Pence TX DOT

Update on FHWA Crash Costs Initiative – Griffith FHWA

Safety Implementation Assistance Program Updateb- Hutton AASHTO

SHRP2 Safety Research:NDS Pooled Fund Study and Broad Area Announcement Projects – Pol – FHWA

NCHRP 17-72: Update of CMFs for the Highway Safety Manual -Gross VHB

NCHRP 17-71 Proposed AASHTO Highway Safety Manual,2nd Edition – Toole, Kittleson

The Road To Zero (RTZ) Coalition – FHWA

CCR Restructuring Update for SCOHTS

FDOT Safety April 2017.pdf Santos

SCOHTS2017HSM2 Ptogress Review – Tobias – IL DOT

2016 annual meeting reistration site

SCOHTS 2016 Annual Meeting  Presentations

FHWA status update – Michael Griffith

NHTSA – Jeff Michael

HSIP and Safety PM Overview – Michael Griffith

NCHRP 17-67 Briefing – Robert Wunderlich

Ohio Safety Trends – Jim Barna

Iowa Safety Trends – Sandra Larson

NCHRP domestic Scan – Rudy Malfabon

Comprehensive Committee Review Update – Tim Henkel

Update on TZD National Strategy – Ian Grossman

Vision Zero Network – Leah Shahum

NCHRP 17-64: Guidance on TZD Implementation – Gina Baas

GHSA update – Don Nail

MASH Implementation Technical Commmittee on Roadside Safety- Chris Poole

MASH FHWA update- Michael Griffith

We Are Minnesota – Jay Hietpas, MnDOT

AAMVA’s role in Automated Vehicles – Ian Grossman

<SHRP2 Safety Activities – Rudy Malfabon, Brad Estochen

FHWA SHRP2 update – Mike Griffith

NTSB Speeding Safety Study – Nathan Doble

ATSSA Update – Nathan Smith

RSF Update – Bruce Hamilton

NCHRP – Mark Bush

FMCSA Update – Earl Hardy

State Reports








North Carolina


Pennsylvania Benefit Cost Report